Two Honorary Aldermen created

The Lord Mayor of Plymouth has confered the title of ‘Honorary Alderman’ upon Patricia Nicolson and Michael Fox for their significant contribution to Plymouth City Council during their time as councillors.

Previous Lord Mayor, Michael Fox was elected to the Estover Ward in 1995, now known as Moor View Ward.  He served as a Councillor until May 2016 with two breaks in service from 2000 to 2003 and 2007 to 2011, and was both Deputy Lord Mayor in 2004/2005 and Lord Mayor in 2014/2015.

During the early part of his councillor career, he served on many Council committees and was Chair of the Plymouth Marketing Bureau. He served on the the Scrutiny Panel and has also been School Governor and Treasurer of Sir John Hunt Sports College.

He has been interested in politics all his working life and whilst working at Cambridge he was Chairman of the Local Branch of NALGO. He had trained as an Environmental Health Officer from 1957 until 1964 at Bristol City Council and then he also worked at a number of different councils including Coventry, Cambridge, East Herts, the London Boroughs of Enfield, and Islington, then Blythe Valley and finally as City Environmental Officer at Plymouth.

Patricia Nicholson was elected to the Council at a by-election in May 1988 for the Stoke Ward, which she served until 1991. During this period she served on the Housing, Licensing, Highways and Finance Committees.

Re-elected to the City Council in 2000 for the Trelawny Ward, which following boundary changes in 2003 became the Peverell Ward, she served continuously until 2016 when retiring from the City Council. In total Mrs Nicholson served for 19 years.

During this period she served on many Council Committees including Licensing, Chair Hackney & Private Hire Sub, Chair Hospitality Sub, Planning and various scrutiny committees and panels.

On outside bodies, she represented the Council on the Mayflower Trust which she chaired, Ballard Trust and the Wolseley Trust.

Mrs Nicholson was a civil servant working in the Naval Base for 22 years. She has served as a school governor for over twenty years at Devonport High School for Boys, Stoke Damerel Community College, Stoke Damerel Primary School, Devonport High School for Girls, Woodford Junior and Boringdon Primary School.

Lord Mayor Councillor Pauline Murphy said: “Becoming an Honorary Alderman is a prestigious moment. Both Michael Fox and Patricia Nicholson have been chosen for their eminent services to Plymouth City Council during their time as councillors and I am delighted to ask each of them to sign the roll of Honorary Aldermen.”

During the ceremony, each signed the Roll of Honorary Aldermen and received the Alderman insignia and a framed scroll upon which the Council resolution is recorded.