Next phase of resurfacing to get underway


Fifteen more Plymouth roads will get a new lease of life over the next two months as our next phase of resurfacing gets underway.

The works, which begin on Monday 10 September, will take place along stretches where the overall road surface is nearing the end of its life. They are being carried out by our road maintenance contractor South West Highways alongside its day-to-day road maintenance programme.

Councillor Sue Dann, Cabinet Member for Environment and Streetscene said: “We’re spending £3 million to make sure our road network lasts longer. To do this we’re investing in resurfacing and other preventative treatments and will continue to roll this plan out across the city.”

Works are programmed to take place on the following roads and dates (weather allowing):

Beaumont Road
Monday 10 to Friday 14 September (four nights)

Billacombe Road (inbound)
Wednesday 19 to Thursday 20 September (one night)

Embankment Road
Thursday 20 to Friday 21 September (one night)

Slip road from Marsh Mills Roundabout to Leigham
Friday 21 to Saturday 22 September (one night)

Charfield Drive
Monday 24 to Friday 28 September (days)

Ernesettle Lane
Monday 8 to Thursday 11 October (three nights)
Friday 12 to Sunday 14 October (two nights)
Monday 15 to Wednesday 17 October (two nights)

Cumberland Road/Devonport Hill
Monday 15 to Friday 19 October (four nights)

Western Approach
Monday 15 to Friday 19 October (four nights)

Union Street
Tuesday 16 to Wednesday 17 October (one night)

Stonebarton Road
Monday 22 October (daytime)

Dingle Road
Tuesday 23 and Wednesday 24 October (days)

Molesworth Road
Thursday 25 to Monday 29 October (days)

Tavistock Road outbound (George Junction)
Tuesday 30 October to Thursday 1 November (two nights)

Morgan Road (George Junction)
Thursday 1 to Saturday 3 November (two nights)

Tavistock Road inbound (George Junction)
Monday 5 to Tuesday 6 November (one night)

Southway Drive
Wednesday 6 to Thursday 7 November (one night)

Tavistock Road inbound (Manadon Hill)
Wednesday 7 to Thursday 8 November (one night)

All of the works will require road or lane closures and residents and businesses nearby are being notified in advance. Access to properties will be maintained as far as possible and any diversion routes will be signposted. Most of the work will be carried out at night to minimise disruption to traffic.

For the latest roadworks updates follow @plymhighways on Twitter or sign up for our weekly roadworks roundup. You can also view all current and upcoming roadworks on our roadworks map.