New Members of Youth Parliament elected

Plymouth’s young people turned out in force over the past two weeks to vote in the city’s UK Youth Parliament elections.

A total of 6644 young people voted, which is the highest ever number of voters in a Plymouth UK Youth Parliament election.

Plymouth’s new Members of Youth Parliament are Alana Jones and Sam Cade. Deputy Members are Libby Richards and Ellie Lakin.

Newly elected Libby Richards from Stoke Dameral Community College said:  “I feel so honoured to be elected as a deputy Member of Youth Parliament. I can’t wait to spend more time with all of the elected members. It’s going to be a great year.”

Picture attached (L to R): Alana Jones, Libby Richards, Ellie Lakin, Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor Nick Kelly.

Cabinet Member for Children and Young People Councillor Terri Beer said: “I want all our candidates to know that they are valued in the work they do for young people in this city by representing them on the UK Youth Parliament. It’s great that young people hold us to account and ensure their ideas and manifesto pledges are keenly persuade. I am extremely proud of their achievements so far and long may that continue.”

The results were announced by the Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor Nick Kelly.

The newly elected members will spend the next year working on their campaigns locally and contributing to national campaigns, supported by Plymouth City Council Youth Workers. The campaigns include:

  • Raising awareness and understanding of autism along with improving the confidence of young people on the autistic spectrum in talking about it
  • Raising awareness around youth homelessness and creating safe areas for homeless young people
  • Lowering the voting age to 16
  • A curriculum for life – Personal, Social and Health Education lessons known as PSHE, that include topics such as how to manage finances, the political system, what a mortgage actually is and sustainable living.