Celebrating excellence in care in Plymouth

More than 300 people came together on Saturday night for the fourth Celebrating Excellence in Care Awards.

All the winners from the 4th Excellence in Care Awards.

The annual event, organised by Plymouth City Council, is held to celebrate the role of care workers and showcase best practice across care in the city, from nursing homes and care homes to those who provide domiciliary care in people’s homes and supported living providers.

The awards celebrate and acknowledge excellence in care, innovations, partnerships and collaborative working, commitment to providing excellent care and inspiring contributions from individuals and teams across the care sector.

Councillor Kate Taylor, Cabinet Member for Health and Adult Social Care said: “When I took over the role as lead member for health and adult social care this was one of the events that I was really looking forward to attending. The role of care workers in our city is vital and yet they are sometimes over looked that is why events like this are so important. I’d like to personally thank everyone for their hard work, care and commitment for all the support they provide to some of our most vulnerable residents.”

There were 32 awards in total that were handed out by a range of local dignitaries, including the Deputy Lord Mayor Councillor Terri Beer, Councillor Kate Taylor, Strategic Director for People Craig McArdle Director for Integrated Commissioning Anna Coles.

The event was organised by members of the Council’s Quality Assurance Improvement Team; Caroline Paterson, Hannah Shaw, Bridget Buckley, Andy Rowing-Parker, Joan Bird and Helen Reid.

The winners of the categories were as follows:

People’s Choice Award: Gemma Godefroy, Higher Park Lodge and Maggie Williams, Caremark Plymouth

Manager of the Year: Lorna Smith, Parkwood House and Emma Bonney, Prestige Nursing

Deputy of the Year: Diane Seymour, Merafield View and Jen Gilholm, Caremark Plymouth

Nurse of the Year: Jean Alcantara, Seymour Court and Jane Lys, Prestige Nursing

Team of the Year: Chatsworth House, Caremark Plymouth and Havencare

Contribution to Care: Jane Wyatt, Meadowside & St Francis

Rising Star: Gemma MacFayden, Merafield View and Katrina Loosely, Gemcare

Promoting Independence Champion: Matt Spurling, Restormel House

Culinary Care in Care Homes: Hanan Rosenstein, Two Trees

Care Worker of the Year: Damian Knight, Restormel House; Verna Emery, Prestige Nursing; and Samm Dent, DOVE Project

Ancillary Worker of the Year: Kim Crook, Merafield View

Volunteer of the Year: Mike Spry, Bethany Christian Home; and Hannah Watchman, Valley View

Care Home Activity Coordinator: Joanne Smith, Two Trees

Service User Involvement: Prestige Nursing

Service User Story of the Year: Douglass Reed: Meadowside & St Francis

Excellence in Dementia Care: Chatsworth House

Excellence in End of Life Care: Bethany Christian Home

Excellence in Learning Disability Care: Farm Lane House; and Support-ed

Innovative Partnership Working: Gemcare

Innovation in Technology: Parkwood House

Commitment to Workforce Development: Parkwood House