Blitz Fireworks crowned British Firework Champions 2014

Blitz Fireworks have been crowned British Firework Champions 2014 following a spectacular two-day showdown between six of the UK’s top pyrotechnics specialists on Plymouth Hoe.

Thousands of spectators gathered on and around the Hoe on Tuesday 12 and Wednesday 13 August to see over four tonnes of fireworks set off into the night sky in six spectacular displays.

Blitz’s display was the second on Tuesday night.

PYRO 1 were due to open Wednesday evening but had technical difficulties so went third on the second night, with Reaction opening and MLE Pyrotechnics following.

Blitz were the winners from Tuesday night, with Reaction Fireworks grabbing the award for best display on Wednesday.

The British Firework Championships are jointly organised by The Event Services Association (TESA) and Plymouth City Council, in association with The Herald and the University of St Mark and St John.

Three teams competed on each evening of the two-day event:

Tuesday 12 August
Blitz Fireworks
Northern Lights Fireworks

Wednesday 14 August
Reaction Fireworks
MLE Pyrotechnics